
WHAT TO EXPECT
Drivers have two options for vision screenings when renewing their license:
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OPTION 1:
Vision screenings may be completed for free at any KYTC Driver Licensing Regional Office at the time of renewal. 

OPTION 2: 
Drivers may ask their vision specialist or KYTC-credentialed osteopath, physician or advanced practice registered 
nurse for a vision screening. Drivers who pass will receive a Driver Vision Testing Certification Form from their 
provider to bring when renewing their license.

The vision screening and Driver Vision Testing Certification Form must be completed within 12 months of a driver’s 
license renewal visit at a regional office. 

IF DRIVERS DO NOT PASS
Drivers who do not passwho do not pass their vision screening at a Drivers Licensing Regional Office will be 
referred to a vision specialist for secondary vision examination and any corrective lenses. 
If vision is corrected,If vision is corrected, vision specialists may fill out and sign a Driver Vision Testing Certification form, confirming 
their patient can safely operate a vehicle and proceed with license renewal. Drivers will then bring their certification 
form to the Driver Licensing Regional Office when renewing their license. 

KYTC will begin accepting vision testing certification forms on January 1, 2025.

LEARN MORE:  
Drive.KY.Gov/VisionScreening

Starting January 1, 2025, all Kentuckians must undergo 
a vision screening to renew their driver’s license. Multiple 
states have adopted mandatory vision screenings to 
ensure drivers have the visual acuity required to operate 
a vehicle safely. 

This new requirement, enacted during the 2021 General 
Assembly, aims to promote highway safety by ensuring 
that all drivers maintain good vision throughout their 
driving career. The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet 
(KYTC) is responsible for administering the vision 
requirement law for drivers seeking to renew their license. 

If the patient cannot pass vision testing sufficiently enough to operate a 
vehicle, you will complete the appropriate section of the certification form, 
then sign and submit it to the email, address or fax listed on the form. LEARN MORE: Drive.KY.Gov/VisionScreening
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FAQ FAQ 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
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Q. Do I have to make an appointment at a 
Driver Licensing Regional Office for a vision 
screening?
No. You may request a vision screening when you 
renew your Kentucky driver’s license in person. While 
appointments are strongly encouraged, walk-in 
customers are welcome and will be served on a first-
come, first-served basis.

Q. When can I renew my license?
Kentuckians may renew their driver’s license up 
to 180 days (roughly 6 months) before their card 
expires. We strongly encourage Kentuckians to 
renew early should they need corrective vision 
measures if they do not pass the screening before 
their card expires.

Q. Are first-time Kentucky permit or driver’s 
license holders still required to perform a 
vision screening when applying?
Yes, new drivers must pass a vision test performed 
by the Kentucky State Police during their written 
permit testing appointment.

Q. Is there a cost to get a vision screening?
The vision screening at Driver Licensing Regional 
Offices is performed at no cost to applicants. Vision 
specialists and Transportation Cabinet credentialed 
medical specialists will charge for their services.

Q. Can I upload a vision screening form when 
renewing my license online?
Forms will be accepted for online renewal applicants 
beginning January 1, 2025. More information will be 
available on the online renewal portal.

Q. Where can I get a form if I recently had an  
eye exam?
Vision specialists and credentialed medical 
specialists will receive the driver certification form 
this fall and the Transportation Cabinet will begin 
accepting it in January 2025. In 2025, you may call 
your specialist’s office to ask if they can complete 
a form if you had an eye exam within 12 months of 
your license renewal visit. Specialists may request 
a Driver Vision Testing Certification form from the 
Transportation Cabinet if they do not have the form 
after January 2025.

Q. Can I wear glasses to take the vision screening 
exam at a regional licensing office?
Yes, you may wear glasses during the screening.  
If you test wearing glasses, and a corrective lens 
restriction is not already noted on your license, it will 
be added to your license.

Q. What are the minimum vision requirements 
needed to renew a license? 
Drivers must have a visual acuity of 20/40 or better. 
They must also have a horizontal visual field of at 
least 30 degrees to both the left and right of fixation, 
and a vertical visual field of at least 25 degrees 
above and below fixation in their better eye.
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